Update: Court Agrees with DOJ, Rules Against the University of Iowa

Ilana Linder, Manley Burke LPA, ilana.linder@manleyburke.com In the January 2019 Newsletter, the Department of Justice’s (DOJ) intervention in a case against the University of Iowa was high- lighted. Specifically, the DOJ took the position that the University had engaged in...
READ MORE

Update: Harvard Files Answers to Lawsuits

Sean Callan, Manley Burke LPA, sean.callan@manleyburke.com On February 8, 2019, Harvard College filed motions to dismiss two lawsuits against it, one in Massachusetts state court (“State Motion”) and the other in the United State District Court for the District of...
READ MORE

Lawsuit Filed Against Yale is An Attack on Greek Organizations

Tim Burke, Manley Burke LPA, tburke@manleyburke.com On February 12, 2019, three female students at Yale filed suit against the University and nine fraternity chapters, their international organizations, and their house corporations in the United States District Court in Connecticut. The...
READ MORE

Timothy Piazza Anti-Hazing Law Passed in Pennsylvania

Tim Burke, Manley Burke LPA, tburke@manleyburke.com It was neither surprising nor inappropriate when the Pennsylvania legislature adopted new legislation last year aimed at stopping hazing. The facts around the death of Timothy Piazza were particularly horrific. His death occurred during...
READ MORE

Navigating Louisiana's Max Gruver Act

Arthur F. Hodge III, Mee Mee Hodge & Epperson, LLP, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma Enacted in 2018, Louisiana Rev. Stat. § 14:40.8 addresses “Criminal hazing.” It provides certain penalties if persons and/or organizations covered by the statute “knew and failed to...
READ MORE

Bloomington Ordinance Found Unconstitutional

Gary Founds and Mike Allen, Mallor Grodner, LLP, gfounds@lawmg.com An increasing number of municipalities across the country are using zoning ordinances to give universities the right to determine whether a given fraternity or sorority may occupy privately-owned property.  Typically, zoning...
READ MORE

Lawsuit Filed After Tragic Death of Northwestern Student

Ilana Linder, Manley Burke, ilinder@manleyburke.com The mother of Jordan Hankins, a Northwestern University basketball player and Alpha Kappa Alpha (AKA) pledge who committed suicide, has filed suit against AKA National, the local chapters, and several individuals, seeking to hold the...
READ MORE

Are Mandatory Study Tables Considered Hazing?

Ilana Linder, Manley Burke, tburke@manleyburke.com A federal Complaint was recently filed by Sigma Lambda Upsilon (SLU) against the University of Virginia (UVA) that begs the question of whether requiring pledges to study at least twenty-five (25) hours per week constitutes...
READ MORE

Who is Discriminating Against Whom?

Ilana Linder, Manley Burke, ilinder@manleyburke.com Over a year ago, a small student group that was deregistered by its university filed a lawsuit against the school. Just last month, the U.S. Department of Justice intervened, filing a brief in support of...
READ MORE

Two Lawsuits Filed Against Harvard

Tim Burke, Manley Burke, tburke@manleyburke.com On December 3, 2018, two separate lawsuits, one in federal court and one in state court, were filed against Harvard by several Fraternities and Sororities. The suits challenge Harvard’s controversial decision to penalize students who...
READ MORE